Red, White & Blue Ridge Parkway

Welcome to MY SWVA and a few of my favorite things that I have found on my 22 year journey of learning the tourism treasures in this mountain area of Virginia.  My favorite scenic drive is the portion of the Blue Ridge Parkway from the Blue Ridge Music Center to Mabry Mill.  I can hop on to “The Scenic”, as the folks called it during those early years of construction, at Interstate 77 near the Virginia and North Carolina State Lines at Fancy Gap.  Go south to reach the Blue Ridge Music Center or north to go to Mabry Mill.

Blue Ridge Music Center on the Blue Ridge Parkway

For some reason, once my wheels get onto the Parkway, a sense of peace and tranquility encompasses my body and mind. It may be that my parents took my siblings and I (four of us) onto the Parkway as day trips or that I have a content feeling of isolation from the hustle and bustle of my everyday life. I love the feel that of road, and the trees, rhododendrons and orange flame azaleas that bloom along the banks. I love the breath taking views at the overlooks and the site of rows and rows of mountain peaks all blue and hazy. For some reason,  food tastes much better when eaten on the Parkway. Maybe those high altitudes or the crisp air awakens ones senses to food, smells, sights, and sounds. So, welcome to a piece of heaven, in My SWVA.

Kitty Barker | Virginia Tourism Corporation

Back to myswva.org

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

